The Town of Washington, Connecticut
DOG LICENSES (Sec. 22-337 Through 22-359c)Every dog, except dogs kept under a kennel license, as provided in section 22-342, must be licensed when it becomes six months old and then annually in June. The town clerk issues licenses for the dogs in his or her town.
The town clerk must provide for issuance and renewal of licenses through the mail, and may make license applications available at such facilities as kennels, pet stores, veterinarian's offices, humane society offices and pet grooming establishments.
For neutered male/spayed female: $5.00 + $1.00 town clerk's fee + $2.00 state animal welfare fund = $8.00.
For unneutered male/unspayed female: $12.00 + $1.00 town clerk's fee + $6.00 state animal welfare fund = $19.00.
These fees are not pro-rated by month for dogs which become six months of age after June 30, but are the same throughout the year.
A penalty of $1.00 per month or fraction of a month is charged when an owner fails to license a dog when it becomes six months old. However, no penalty is charged if the owner presents certain proof of new ownership; see "License by New Owners" below.
- NEUTERING, SPAYING AND RABIES CERTIFICATES. The town clerk may not issue a license for a neutered male or a spayed female dog not previously licensed unless the person obtaining the license presents a certificate from a licensed veterinarian stating that he or she has neutered or spayed the dog or that he or she has examined the dog and found it to be neutered or spayed.
Likewise, no license may be issued unless a valid rabies certificate, signed by a licensed veterinarian, and including date of vaccination and duration of immunity, is submitted to the town clerk.
On or before June 1 of each year, the town clerk and director of health may arrange a low-cost clinic for the vaccination of dogs and cats against rabies. The licensing of dogs at an antirabies clinic is permitted under statute.
- GUIDE DOGS. Any blind, deaf or mobility impaired person who is owner or keeper of a dog trained to guide and assist him shall receive a license and tag for such dog, and no fee shall be charged. Also, dogs between 6 months and 1 year of age, placed for training as guide dogs, shall also receive a license and tag at no fee, provided satisfactory evidence is presented that the dog was placed by an organization which supplies such guide dogs.
- LICENSE BY NEW OWNERS. Anyone who becomes owner or keeper of an unlicensed dog over six months old must license the dog within 30 days of acquisition. If the new owner presents satisfactory evidence that the dog was obtained from a licensed kennel or animal welfare organization, or was imported into the state within thirty days, no penalties for late licensing shall be charged. Any person becoming owner of an already-licensed dog may present the license and tag to-the town clerk of the town in which he resides and, for a fee of $1.00, shall receive a new license and tag in his name. The town clerk must retain the old license.
- LICENSING WHEN OWNER MOVES. If a dog owner moves his residence to another town, he must present the license and tag to the town clerk of his new town who, for a fee of .50, issues a new license and tag. The town clerk must retain the old license and tag.
- REPLACEMENT OF LOST TAG. Replacements for lost tags may be issued by the town clerk for a fee of .50, which fee the town clerk retains.
- TEMPORARY LICENSES. Any person acquiring an unlicensed dog from a dog pound shall be issued a temporary license which shall expire thirty days after issuance. Prior to expiration of the license, such person must apply for a license for the remainder of the license year.
- AGENTS AT DOG POUNDS. Town clerks may deputize employees of any dog pound in the town as agents for the issuance of dog licenses and tags. The town clerk is solely responsible for the agent's compliance with the provisions of the statutes relating to licenses and tags, and for all money received.
- LICENSES AND TAGS. Every person complying with the dog licensing statutes must be given a license on a form prescribed by the commissioner of agriculture, which contains a description of the dog and the number under which the dog is licensed. With each license, the town clerk must issue a tag or plate of material approved by the commissioner, upon which shall be distinctly marked the name of the town in which the dog is licensed, the license number of the dog, and the year of the license. Tags are in fact ordered by the town clerk from the commissioner of agriculture, at a cost of .05 each. The color and shape of the tags are uniform throughout the state and are changed every year.
- COPIES OF LICENSES. On or before August 1 of each year, the town clerk must give a copy of all licenses to the canine control officer or, if the town has none, to the regional canine control officer.
- KENNEL LICENSES. Any owner or keeper of a kennel may apply to the town clerk of the town where the kennel is located for a kennel license. A kennel license must be issued on a form prescribed by the commissioner of agriculture and for a period from the application date until the following June 30. A kennel is defined as dogs kept for sport, sale, or show. The license must specify the name and number of the kennel, the owner's name and the keeper's name.
A kennel license is in lieu of other licenses for the dogs kept in the kennel. A tag must be issued for every dog kept in the kennel. A kennel license may be transferred by issuing a new license and tags at 10 cents per tag; the town clerk retains the old license and tags and the 10 cent fee. An owner or keeper of a kennel does not have to submit a rabies certificate at the time the license is issued.
The fee for a new kennel started after July 1 is a proportional part of the fee for one year. The penalty for failing to obtain a license for an established kennel before June 30 is $1.00 for each dog in addition to the regular fee.
- BREEDING KENNELS. Any owner or keeper of a kennel who breeds more than two litters annually SHALL apply for a kennel license. Any owner or keeper who breeds not more than two litters annually MAY apply for a kennel license (22-342). Towns may license breeding kennels in accordance with local zoning regulations. A person keeping ten or more unspayed dogs shall apply to the town clerk. Upon certification by the zoning official, on a form prescribed by the town, and payment of a fee set by the town, the town clerk shall issue such license. Each license is valid from the date of application until the thirtieth day of June and can be renewed from year to year.